Corned Beef!

18 Jan

This is Jason posting.

Another cooking adventure!  This time we decided to cook the corned beef that’s been in our freezer since last year.  We followed this recipe: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Guinness-Corned-Beef/Detail.aspx.  Instead of Guinness we used Blue Moon beer!  I kept the juice from the bag and used the seasonings that came with it.  I rinsed and dried the meat then coated it with 1/2 cup of brown sugar since my corned beef was 2.25lbs.   Then I put it into the 300 degree oven.  I cut up potatoes, carrots and cabbage.  I added salt and pepper to the vegetables and tossed them.  I added the veges into the dutch oven after 1 1/2 h into the cooking time.  I checked the pot after 2 1/2h of cooking.  The cabbage didn’t look tender enough so I put the pot back into the oven while I went to pick up Shirley from work.  We came back and I took out the pot to show Shirley what I cooked!  So…I basically added way too many veges.  There was 1 lb of carrots, 1 lb of potatoes and 3lbs of cabbage for 2.25lb of corned beef.  The food turned out ok.  The corned beef had a yummy flavor due to the Blue Moon beer.  The vegetables were under seasoned though.  Shirley told me a good rule of thumb: 1 pinch of salt to 1 lb of vegetables.  Yeah, I’m gonna be eating lots of veges this week!

Leave a Reply

