the most random tomato sauce ever.

19 Jan

marcella hazan’s super easy, super crazy, super delicious tomato sauce.

28oz can of whole peeled plum tomatoes (as usual, san marzano is recommended.  i used henry’s market brand because i’m on a budget and it’s cheap.  toss in a bit of brown sugar and no one will know the difference.  but, one day i will try san marzano tomatoes just to see what the fuss is about.)
5 tbsp of butter (yes, butter.  don’t sub this out for olive oil!!  TRUST ME.  it makes all the difference. )
1 onion, peeled and cut in half horizontally (so you end up with two halves)

dump the tomatoes, juices, butter, and onion halves into a saucepan.   bring it to a simmer and cook, uncovered, mashing the tomato bits and stirring occasionally, for oh, 45 minutes or so.  add some salt if you need it.  now, be crazy and FISH OUT THE ONION.  you [read] me, fish it out.  the sauce is done.   so easy, that jason could do it.  (and he did, except for the seasoning parts!)

serve with pasta and parmigiano reggiano (the good stuff, not that pre-grated crap they serve with pizza).   and eat the onion, no use wasting the yumminess.

YUM.  say it with me now.  all i need now is a trusty meatball recipe.  oh wait, i already have one.  but i’m saving that for next time!  🙂

One Response to “the most random tomato sauce ever.”

  1. Stella January 20, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

    🙂 I’ve had that recipe bookmarked for a while now, and then when I saw it on SmittenKitchen, I was like “Oh, yeah… the butter&onion pasta sauce.” If I could eat pasta, I’d make the sauce. 😦

    As far as San Marzano tomatoes go, I think they taste tomato-ier than regular canned tomatoes. Not sweeter, necessarily. Just… more tomato-y. But I only splurge on those when I’m making something where the tomato flavor really really matters to me. And since I’m not a huge tomato-lover, this means it almost never matters to me. HAHA.

    Or I just make the sauce with fresh heirloom tomatoes when they’re in season. I know, who cooks heirloom tomatoes? I do, obviously.

Leave a Reply

