my random pet peeve

29 Jan

so as a person with ocpd, i tend to have lots of pet peeves and things that irritate me that most people don’t care too much about.

one of my more weird pet peeves: names that are actually nicknames that people still name their kids.

for example.  i know two people named jimmy. not james.  not jim.  jimMY.  and i know a guy named johnny.  not john.  not jonathan.  johnny.  this guy is 30-something years old and everyone calls him johnny, cause that’s what his name is!

bill.  bill is not a name.  a bill is piece of paper that shows what you owe.  or a dollar bill.  or a duck bill.  not a name.

joe/joey.  bob/bobby.  ted.  ricky.  danny.

i’ll stop now. 🙂

One Response to “my random pet peeve”

  1. Stella January 29, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    Uhm, YES. I don’t know if it’s just because it confuses me (Who names their kid BOBBY? Have they not heard of the name Robert??) or if it’s because I’m just stupidly insanely particular… but this also drives me crazy.

    But, honestly, I’d take Bobby over Audio Science any day.

Leave a Reply

