libraries

1 Apr

This is Jason posting.

I have to tell you a secret.  I didn’t really get into reading until the 4th or 5th grade.  It wasn’t until a friend encouraged me to read that I really got into reading.  After that point I just devoured books that I could get my hands on.  Usually the fantasy or science fantasy stuff.  Sometimes the fictions that won awards that were showcased in the scholastic magazines that we got in school every month or so.  My aunt rose encouraged the reading and we spent money buying those books.  Now that I think about it, I was lucky to have been able to get those books.  We were pretty poor back then.  Wow, I’m very grateful now.  I mean I knew we didn’t have a lot of money but I did not appreciate the amount of money they let me spend on books.  Thanks aunt rose!  Thanks dad!  Anyway!  I loved going to the library around our house.  The closest one was a small branch library.  It was nice and cozy.  There was a much bigger library further down the road.  I usually biked to both libraries by myself when I was in middle school and beyond.  I really enjoyed browsing the books, looking at the titles, etc.  I went through young adult stuff, books on mythology, zoology, plants… etc.  I loved to look at book covers and reading the summary on the back.  I borrowed lots of books.  I also enjoyed using the computers at the library.  I took advantage of the videos for rent too.  Libraries were peaceful and calm.  Nice and quiet…and air conditioned in the summers! Yeah, very fond memories of libraries.  I am still excited when I go to the libraries here in san diego.  =D

Leave a Reply

